top of page

OTHM Level 4 IT Diploma 

Program Details 

The objective of the OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology is to provide a career path for learners who wish to develop a broad base of knowledge and skills that will enable them to work in a variety of roles in the IT industry.

The programme will focus on topics such as cyber security, computer programming, web and mobile applications, computer and network technology, systems analysis and design and managing digital information.

Successful completion of the OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology will support learners progressing to university, and to provide learners with the requisite skills and knowledge to enter the world of work in their chosen sector.

Entry Requirements

These qualifications are designed for learners who are typically aged 18 and above.
The entry profile for learners is likely to include at least one of the following:
• Relevant Level 3 Diploma or equivalent qualification
• GCE Advanced level in 2 subjects or equivalent qualification
• Mature learners (over 21) with relevant management experience (learners must check with the delivery centre regarding this experience prior to registering for the programme)



OTHM qualifications at RQF Level 4 represent practical knowledge, skills, capabilities and competences that are assessed in academic terms as being equivalent to Higher National Certificates (HNC) and Year 1 of a three-year UK Bachelor's degree programme.

Qualification Structure

The OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology consists of 6 mandatory units for a combined total of 120 credits, 1200 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT) and 480 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

Mandatory units

• Cyber Security (20 credits)
• Principles of Computer Programming (20 credits)
• Systems Analysis and Design (20 credits)
• Web and Mobile Applications (20 credits)
• Computer and Network Technology (20 credits)
• Managing Digital Information (20 credits)

Duration and delivery

The qualification is designed to be delivered over one academic year for full-time study, but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time and distance learning.


Successful completion of the OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology provides learners the opportunity for a wide range of academic progressions including the OTHM Level 5 Diploma in Information Technology.

As this qualification is approved and regulated by Ofqual (Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulation), learners are eligible to gain direct entry into the second year of a three-year UK Bachelor’s degree.

bottom of page